.If you've cleared IIT JEE, have you been able to solve HC Verma on your own? If not, did you solve any, and which basic book before that? Did you refer to any online solution for HC Verma? Will it clear concepts if no basic book is done before it

.If you’ve cleared IIT JEE, have you been able to solve HC Verma on your own? If not, did you solve any, and which basic book before that? Did you refer to any online solution for HC Verma? Will it clear concepts if no basic book is done before it?

While preparing for JEE, I went through similar circumstances. I loved physics, but the CBSE book of physics just takes all your interest away. (Seriously, I never studied from that book)
I studied with Kumar Mittal while preparing for my CBSE boards. Although the book is meant for ISC students, it helped me clear my concepts to a great level. The book covers all the topics for CBSE, and has explained it well enough to clear all sorts of doubts.

However, when it comes to JEE, Kumar Mittal lacks quality problems. You’ll find plenty in HCV, which I would recommend if you have built a little concept from a board level book (like Kumar Mittal, in my case).
I prepared for my JEE from HC Verma, sometimes referring to DC Pandey or Resnik Halliday to check my progress. Whatever I learned from HCV helped me a lot in JEE, since I could relate the problems in the paper to the ones in HCV to some extent. With all I had gained from HCV, I cleared JEE Advanced 2016 with a decent rank; with almost 60% of my total marks from physics alone!
(That’s a different story that I totally screwed my Chemistry section!)
Now, Did I solve the entire HCV on my own? Well, No. Certainly I faced a lot of problems while solving hcv, and since I did not have an entire day to give to a single question, this was the strategy I adopted:
Whenever I got stuck on a question (solving time t>5 mins); I star-marked the question and moved to the next one.